Just found out my husband is an addict

This section covers ALL drugs, from Heroin to pain Killers. General Gossip.

Just found out my husband is an addict

Postby halfwayhomes » Sun Aug 03, 2014 6:40 pm

Hello all. I'm very new to this so please bare with me this post may be all over the place because that's where my mind is.

My husband and I have been together for 8 years, married for almost 4. When I met him he was taking Vicodin due to a back injury from a terrible car accident. Well he never really stopped taking it and though I have been worried about it I thought he was taking it as prescribed.

He came down to me last night after putting our 2 year old to sleep saying he had to talk to me. He told me that his is addictd to the pills and it's bad. He has a monthly script and I guess buys pills from a man he knows. I am very hurt and angry. We have been having financial difficulties- still able to make bills but not much more- for a while and I thought this was due to a pay cut. He told me that he spends 100's of dollars a week on these pills. He takes 20-40 a day.

I'm completely lost- I don't know what to do. I'm having trouble dealing with my emotions. I'm pissed that he put me and my child in this situation. I would ask him about money and he would get angry with me. Now looking back I guess it makes since but I was so blind and naive before.

He says he told me because the past 6 months have gotten out of control and he knows he needs help before he goes down deeper. We have looked into a inpatient detox and then a 14 day rehab. It amazes me that he was able to be so functional based on the amount he said he has been taking. He still went to work every single day and is an amazing father, that's scary.

He was however always tired- pretty moody etc. I just figured it was because he works long hours. I want to be there for him but I'm worried that there's not enough of me to take care of him, my son, and myself. I'm lost and don't know what to do.